Hoppa yfir valmynd
Embassy of Iceland in Washington DC

Travel restrictions due to the COVID-19 outbreak

The US Government has issued travel restrictions due to the COVID-19 outbreak, which will temporarily suspend travel for non-US citizens who have been physically present within the Schengen Area during the 14 days before their entry to the U.S.

The ban affects travel from 26 European countries to the U.S., including Iceland. Travel will be suspended for 30 days starting tomorrow, Friday 13 March at midnight EST. The authorities note that the restrictions ”do not apply to legal permanent residents, (generally) immediate family members of U.S. citizens, and other individuals who are identified in the proclamation”.

The Embassy in Washington and the Consulate General in New York are closely monitoring the situation which is still evolving. We will be updating this information on a regular basis as the situation becomes clearer.

For now, Icelandair will continue to fly according to schedule from New York (JFK), New Jersey (EWR), Washington DC, Chicago and Seattle.

For more information on flights to and from Iceland with Icelandair:


For those returning back to the United States please seek advice at the US Embassy in Reykjavík.

Please visit the U.S. Department of Homeland Security for the latest updates on the travel restrictions to the U.S:



Contact us

Tip / Query
Please answer in numerics