Hoppa yfir valmynd

Embassy Information

The Embassy of Iceland in Germany has started its work in 1952, right after the establishment of the diplomatic relations between both countries.

The Embassy in Berlin is also sideaccredited to Croatia, Montenegro, Poland and Serbia and works with the assistance of 13 Icelandic honorary consulates, thereof nine in Germany.

The Embassy´s duties are based on the political, economical and cultural exchange between Iceland and the other countries. To the daily duties also belong consular functions and the response to common inquiries about Iceland.

Information about Iceland's consulates in the embassy's jurisdiction can be found below.

Embassy of Iceland in Berlin


Rauchstraße 1

10787 Berlin

Phone: +49 (0)30 -50 50 40 00



Open all week days from 09:00 - 12:00 and 13:00 - 16:00

Embassy of Iceland in BerlinFacebook hlekkurEmbassy of Iceland in BerlinTwitte hlekkur
Bjarki ÞórðarsonSecretarybjarki.thordarson@utn.stjr.is
Elín Rósa SigurðardóttirCounsellorelin.sigurdardottir@utn.stjr.is
Jónína SigmundsdóttirAttachéjonina.sigmundsdottir@utn.stjr.is
Martin EyjólfssonAmbassadormartin.eyjolfsson@utn.stjr.is
Ralf StegemannChauffeurralf.stegemann@utn.stjr.is
Ruth Bobrich Commercial Counsellorruth.bobrich@utn.stjr.is
Soffía GunnarsdóttirSecretarysoffia.gunnarsdottir@utn.stjr.is
Vincent Már StefánssonSecretaryvincent.mar.stefansson@utn.stjr.is


H.E. Martin Eyjólfsson

Curriculum Vitae

Professional Experience

  • Ambassador Plenipotentiary and Extraordinary to Germany, August 2016
  • Permanent Representative to the International Organizations in Geneva 2012 - 2016
  • Ambassador to the Holy See, since December 2013
  • Ambassador to Liechtenstein, since December 2012
  • Director General MFA – External Trade and Economic affairs, 2007 - 2012
  • Director MFA – European affairs, 2007
  • Deputy Director MFA, Department of External Trade, 2007
  • Head of Overseas Business Services MFA, 2003-2004
  • Head of Unit MFA – International Trade Agreements, 2002-2003
  • Embassy of Iceland in Brussels - First Secretary 1998 - 2002
  • Legal expert EU and EEA law – MFA 1996-1998

Other Activities

  • LDC Facilitator WTO Ministerial Meeting, Nairobi 2015
  • Chairman of the WTO Council for Trade in Services, 2015-2016
  • Chairman of the WTO Committee on Balance-of-Payments Restrictions, 2014-2015
  • Member of Chief Negotiation Committee on Iceland’s Membership to EU, 2009-2012
  • IMF Programme of Iceland - Negotiations, 2008
  • Icesave Negotiation Committee, 2008-2009
  • Negotiations with various countries on Foreign Currency Reserves, 2009
  • Negotiations on various Air Services Agreements from 2002-2011
  • EEA Enlargement negotiations, 2007
  • EEA Enlargement negotiations, 2004
  • Legal pleadings before the Court of Justice of the European Communities and the EFTA Court on behalf of the Government of Iceland
  • Various articles on EU law Iceland and International Academic Journals and lectured in Universities in Iceland on EU law


  • Cand. Juris. University of Iceland, Faculty of Law, Reykjavík, Iceland
  • Languages: Icelandic, English, German, French, Danish

Personal Information

  • Born 18 May 1971 in the Westman Islands, Iceland
  • Married to Eva Thengilsdóttir (cand.oecon, MPA). Three children; Thengill (1991), Sylvía (1999) and Tinna (2001)
  • Played football in the Icelandic Premier League for 5 years with IBV

Connections between countries and political alliances have a long history in Northern Europe. Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden comprise the so-called "Nordic Region" and have a common representation of interests in the Nordic Council (founded in 1952) and in the Nordic Council of Ministers (founded in 1971).

After the fall of the Berlin Wall and the German Parliament's resolution to relocate the capital from Bonn to Berlin, the often considered idea of a common Nordic embassy complex was able to be realised. The architectural competition was won by the Austrian/Finish architectural firm Alfred Berger and Tiina Parkkinen. The vision of five national embassy buildings with an open common building, the so-called Felleshus (house for all), enclosed by a band of copper, corresponded to the fundamental idea of individual freedom combined with a feeling of unity. Each of the embassy buildings was designed by an architect from that particular country.

The groundbreaking event was held in May 1997 with the ambassadors from the Nordic countries turning the first spade of dirt together with a five-handled shovel. In October 1999, only 29 months later, the embassies were officially opened in a joint ceremony. The copper band encloses all five embassies and the Felleshus. The area inside the copper band, the plaza, is transected by geometric lines. The three water basins between the embassy buildings are an architectural reference to the seas connecting the Nordic countries.

The embassy buildings are grouped to correspond to the arrangement of the countries on the map. The name Felleshus denotes the sense the building imbues and what it is used for - a house for all, a house in which to meet and interact. The Felleshus has an auditorium for concerts, readings, film viewings and conferences, exhibition spaces, conference rooms, a spacious terrace and a restaurant. The consular departments of the five countries are also housed here.

Was the content helpful?NoYes
Thank you

The tip will be used to improve the quality of services and information on the website of the Cabinet. Feel free to contact if you need assistance.

Why not?

Contact us

Tip / Query

Veldu tungumál

Veldu tungumál

This website uses cookies Read more