Hoppa yfir valmynd
Prime Minister's Office

Government of Mr. Sigurður Ingi Jóhannsson takes office

Ten ministers will take seat in the Government, five from the Progressive Party, and five from the Independence Party. Two of the current ministries, Ministry of Industries and Innovation, and Ministry of Welfare, will have two ministers each.


  • Prime Minister is Mr. Sigurður Ingi Jóhannsson, vice-chairman of the Progressive Party.
  • Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs is Mr. Bjarni Benediktsson, chairman of the Independence Party.
  • Minister of Health is Mr. Kristján Þór Júlíusson, Independence Party (Ministry of Welfare).
  • Minister of Education, Science and Culture is Mr. Illugi Gunnarsson, Independence Party.
  • Minister of Industry and Trade is Mrs. Ragnheiður Elín Árnadóttir, Independence Party (Ministry of Industries and Innovation).
  • Minister of Social Affairs and Housing is Mrs. Eygló Harðardóttir Progressive Party (Ministry of Welfare).
  • Minister for Foreign Affairs is Mrs. Lilja Dögg Alfreðsdóttir, Progressive Party. 
  • Minister of the Interior is Mrs. Ólöf Nordal, Independence Party.
  • Minister for the Environment and Natural Resources is Mrs. Sigrún Magnúsdóttir, Progressive Party.
  • Minister of Fisheries and Agriculture is Mr. Gunnar Bragi Sveinsson, Progressive Party (Ministry of Industries and Innovation).


Contact us

Tip / Query
Please answer in numerics

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Read more