Hoppa yfir valmynd

Statement on the illegal invasion of Ukraine - EFTA

EFTA strongly condemns the illegal invasion of Ukraine and stands united with its partner

The EFTA States condemn Russia’s invasion of Ukraine in the strongest possible terms. They express deep concern for the severe destruction and human suffering resulting from this act of military aggression. This serious violation of international law is causing the loss of life of civilians and a humanitarian catastrophe in Ukraine, which is being felt across the European continent.

The EFTA States call on Russia to de-escalate the situation immediately, cease all hostilities and withdraw its troops from Ukrainian territory without delay.

The EFTA States also condemn the involvement of Belarus in Russia’s military attack.

The EFTA-Ukraine free trade agreement from 2010 is grounded in respect for the rule of law, democracy, and a common commitment to free societies and open economies – values that are being profoundly thwarted by the current unprovoked aggression by Russia.

All four EFTA Member States – Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland – have joined other democratic partners in supporting Ukraine and its people by imposing numerous economic sanctions against Russia, as a response to the gravity of the violation of our shared fundamental values of human rights, self-determination and democracy.

"Russia's attack on Ukraine is a serious threat to European security. The EFTA Member States reiterate their unwavering support to Ukraine and condemn this attack on Ukraine and its territorial integrity. We call on Russia to withdraw its military forces immediately from Ukraine.“ says Thórdís Kolbrún Reykfjörd Gylfadóttir, Icelandic Minister for Foreign Affairs, and Chair of EFTA – the European Free Trade Association.


Contact us

Tip / Query
Please answer in numerics