Hoppa yfir valmynd
Ministry for Foreign Affairs

Joint statement on the limited resumption of Arctic Council cooperation

Harpa Concert Hall and Conference Centre in Reykjavik where the 12th Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting took place in May 2021 - mynd

In response to Russia’s full-scale invasion of Ukraine, a flagrant violation of the principles of sovereignty and territorial integrity, based on international law, the other Arctic Council founding states - Canada, Finland, Iceland, the Kingdom of Denmark, Norway, Sweden, and the United States - on March 3 announced a pause in their participation in the Arctic Council. Since March 3, representatives from these States have examined modalities to allow a resumption of the work in the Arctic Council.

We remain convinced of the enduring value of the Arctic Council for circumpolar cooperation and reiterate our support for this forum and its important work.

We intend to implement a limited resumption of our work in the Arctic Council, in projects that do not involve the participation of the Russian Federation. These projects, contained in the workplan approved by all eight Arctic States at the Reykjavik ministerial, are a vital component of our responsibility to the people of the Arctic, including Indigenous Peoples.

We continue to examine additional modalities to allow us to further continue the Council’s important work.






Contact us

Tip / Query
Please answer in numerics