Hoppa yfir valmynd

Services of Honorary Consulates

Together Towards a Sustainable Arctic


The theme of the Arctic Council Chairmanship program for 2019-2021 reflects Iceland’s commitment to the principle of sustainable development and refers to the necessity of close cooperation between the states and peoples of the region and beyond. Sustainable development and protection of the Arctic environment have been at the core of the Arctic Council’s mandate since its foundation in 1996. With rapid environmental changes underway... - See more...


Icelandic Chairmanship logo

Arctic marine environment

Honorary consulates

Iceland has around 240 Honorary Consulates in over 90 countries around the world. Find the nearest one to you.

Climate and green energy solutions

Visa to Iceland


People and communities of the Arctic

Emergency passports for Icelandic nationals

Honorary Consuls can issue emergency passports for Icelandic nationals. The emergency passport is only valid to travel back to Iceland. 

Stronger Arctic Council

General information about Iceland

Iceland’s Chairmanship will strive to enhance the constructive cooperation that has always been a key strength of the Arctic Council.

Together towards a sustainable Arctic

The Icelandic 2019-2021 Chairmanship Programme (pdf)

With sustainable development as an overarching theme, Iceland will highlight four priorities...

About the Arctic Council

The Arctic Council is the leading intergovernmental forum promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, Arctic indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues, in particular sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic.

Established in 1996, the Arctic Council is composed of eight Member States: Canada, the Kingdom of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, the Russian Federation, Sweden and the United States. In addition, six organizations representing Arctic indigenous peoples have status as Permanent Participants: the Aleut International Association, the Arctic Athabaskan Council, Gwich’in Council International, the Inuit Circumpolar Council, the Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North, and the Saami Council. Observer status is open to non-Arctic states and organizations that can contribute to the Council’s work.

The work of the Arctic Council is primarily carried out in its six Working Groups. Their efforts and analysis form the basis for Arctic Council assessments and recommendations. Decisions are taken by consensus among the eight Arctic Council States, with full consultation and involvement of the Permanent Participants. Further information is available on the Arctic Council website, arctic-council.org

The Icelandic Ministry for Foreign Affairs is responsible for the 2019-2021 Arctic Council Chairmanship. 

SAO Chair: Einar Gunnarsson
SAO for Iceland: Bryndís Kjartansdóttir

Contact us

Tip / Query
Please answer in numerics

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Read more