Hoppa yfir valmynd
Ministry of Justice

Temporary travel restrictions extended until 15 June

The travel restrictions that came into effect on 20 March have been extended until 15 June 2020, in accordance with the EU Commission recommendation to the Schengen Member States. As a member of the Schengen Area, Iceland has implemented the travel restrictions imposed for the Schengen Area and the European Union. As of 20 March 2020, foreign nationals - except EU/EEA, EFTA or UK nationals - are not allowed to enter Iceland unless they can demonstrate that their travel is essential. These measures had been previously extended to 15 May and now again until 15 June 2020. Further information is available on the website of the Directorate of Immigration


For now, individuals arriving in Iceland from countries defined with high risk of infection must still undergo a 14-day quarantine from their day of arrival, however, since 15 May some professionals and others traveling to Iceland for work may be eligible for modified quarantine


The Government expects easing restrictions on international arrivals no later than 15 June 2020, as stated in a previous announcment. At that time, the Government further expects to start to start offering testing as an alternative to quarantine.

Contact us

Tip / Query
Please answer in numerics