Hoppa yfir valmynd
Ministry of Social Affairs and Labour

Effects of Changes to the Free Right to Employment and Residence Act

On May 1st, 2006, legislation came into effect allowing citizens of eight new European Union Member States – the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia – to enter the country in search of employment and enter into employment without applying for a special work permit. These citizens must apply for an European Economic Area (EEA) residence permit and employers hiring them must give notice to the Directorate of Labour.

Further information:


Contact us

Tip / Query
Please answer in numerics

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Read more