Hoppa yfir valmynd
Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Prime Minister's Office

Iceland's support for Ukraine reaches one billion ISK

Prime Minister Katrín Jakobsdóttir with Mateusz Morawiecki, Prime Minister of Poland and Magdalena Andersson, Prime Minister of Sweden - mynd

Prime Minister Katrín Jakobsdóttir attended the High-Level International Donors’ Conference for Ukraine which took place in Warsaw earlier this month.

At the conference, Prime Minister Jakobsdóttir announced a significant increase in Iceland's humanitarian and economic assistance to Ukraine with an additional contribution of 425 million ISK.

The pledge brings Iceland's total support for Ukraine this year to ISK one billion, equivalent to about €7.2 million. 510 million ISK have already been allocated to humanitarian assistance through international organizations and 260 million ISK have been allocated to economic emergency assistance to Ukraine through the World Bank‘s multi-donor trust funds for Ukraine.

"With this additional contribution we almost double our previous support for Ukraine, with a continued focus on humanitarian aid, support for those fleeing the conflict and vulnerable groups, as well as providing economic aid. Icelanders are eager to do everything they can to support Ukraine," says Prime Minister Katrín Jakobsdóttir.

In her address to the conference, the Prime Minister reiterated the Government's unequivocal condemnation of Russia's war of aggression against Ukraine. The invasion is a serious violation of international law and its consequences are devastating for the civilian population of Ukraine. Special focus must be on the war's effect on women and children, not least when it comes to gender-based violence and human trafficking. Jakobsdóttir applauded the people of Poland and other neighbours of Ukraine for welcoming millions of refugees to their countries. Iceland remains a committed member of the broad international coalition in support of Ukraine.

The conference was hosted by the Prime Ministers of Poland and Sweden, the President of the European Commission, and the President of the European Council.

  • Meðfylgjandi fréttamynd nr 1
  • Meðfylgjandi fréttamynd nr 2


Contact us

Tip / Query
Please answer in numerics