Hoppa yfir valmynd

The EEA Agreement

Iceland is a member of the European Economic Area. The Agreement on the European Economic Area, which entered into force on 1 January 1994, brings together the Member States of the European Union (EU) and the three EEA EFTA States — Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway — in a single market, referred to as the "Internal Market".

The EEA Agreement provides for the inclusion of EU legislation covering the four freedoms — the free movement of goods, services, persons and capital — throughout the 31 EEA States. In addition, the Agreement covers cooperation in other important areas such as research and development, education, social policy, the environment, consumer protection, tourism and culture, collectively known as “flanking and horizontal” policies. The Agreement guarantees equal rights and obligations within the Internal Market for citizens and economic operators in the EEA.

Contact us

Tip / Query
Please answer in numerics