Hoppa yfir valmynd

Ministry of Justice
Sölvhólsgata 7
101 Reykjavik

Email: dmr@dmr.is

Tel: +(354) 545 9000

Fax: +(354) 552 7340

Opening hours are 08:30 to 16:00 daily, Monday to Friday.


The Ministry of Justice is responsible for the overall justice system and ensure that civil rights are respected. This involves tasks extending into many areas of society. They include, for instance, civil defence, public prosecution, the courts and justice system, human rights, immigration, enforcement of sentences, the coast guard, policing, personal rights, district commissioners and elections.

The Minister heads its operations and is responsible for all the Ministry's administrative decisions. The Permanent Secretary, acting under the Minister's authority, directs the functioning of the Ministry.

  • The Minister of Justice is Þórdís Kolbrún Reykfjörð Gylfadóttir
    Political advisor to the Minister: Laufey Rún Ketilsdóttir
  • Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Justice is Haukur Guðmundsson.

The Ministry employs nearly 50 members of staff.

The Ministry's functions are divided between four departments:

Was the content helpful?NoYes
Thank you

The tip will be used to improve the quality of services and information on the website of the Cabinet. Feel free to contact if you need assistance.

Why not?

Contact us

Tip / Query

This website uses cookies Read more