Hoppa yfir valmynd

Consular Services

The Embassy provides Icelandic citizens with various consular services, such as voting, the renewal of passports and assistance in emergency situations, requiring official involvement.

Special attention is drawn to the FAQs that provide an overview of information and assistance that the Embassy is able to provide. If you have further questions, please contact the Embassy.

In case of an emergency, please contact the Icelandic Ministry for Foreign Affairs, tel.+354 5459900, which will provide an emergency phone number for the Embassy in New Delhi.

Practical advice for Indians visiting Iceland. (PDF)

Practical advice for Icelanders visiting India. (PDF)

Visa for Iceland / Schengen Visa

Iceland is a part of the Schengen Agreement; this for instance secures unrestricted passage for individuals within the Schengen area. Those who enter the Schengen area go through passport control in the first country they arrive in, and then there is no further inspection. It can therefore be said that when a visa is issued for a trip to Iceland, the visa is not issued exclusively for Iceland as it gives access to all other Schengen countries.

The Embassy of Iceland in New Delhi handles all visa related matters. To apply for a Schengen visa to Iceland applicants must apply in one of the VFS Global visa applications centres in India. Please contact VFS Global in India if you have any doubts as to where to make your application.

Information on where to apply for visas in other countries within the Embassy’s jurisdiction can be found on the website of the Icelandic Directorate of Immigration.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do Indian citizens need a visa to travel to Iceland?

Yes, Indian citizens are required to obtain a Schengen visa before traveling to Iceland. The Embassy of Iceland in New Delhi issues visas through the VFS Global.

To which countries can I travel on the basis of my Uniform Schengen Visa?

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.

Can I Travel to Other Schengen Countries with a Single Entry Visa?

A single-entry visa allows its holder to enter the Schengen Area only once as per the validity of the visa, which means that the holder can travel freely within the Schengen area on the single-entry visa but once you are out of the Schengen area the visa expires.


More information related to Schengen visa to Iceland can be found on the page Visa to Iceland

Contact us

Tip / Query
Please answer in numerics