Hoppa yfir valmynd

Consular Services

All travellers are required to carry a valid travel document during their stay in Iceland even though they may not need to present it at the border under normal circumstances when travelling from another country within the Schengen area. 

Those who travel to Iceland from a country outside the Schengen area or the European Union will always need to present a valid passport at the border.

Drivers licences and Identification Cards issued by Skatterverket are not accepted as valid travel documents.

A passport and a National Identification Card issued by the Police (not Skatterverket) are the only Swedish identification documents considered as valid travel documents in Iceland (see list further down).

Note that some airlines always require a valid passport when travelling to Iceland - even if you have other valid travel documents that would be acceptet by Icelandic authorities. Contact your airline if you are planning on travelling to Iceland with other valid travel documents than a passport.

Passports and Swedish National Identity Cards issued by the Police are the only Swedish identification documents that are considered as valid travel documents in Iceland. Drivers licences and Identification Cards issued by Skatteverket are not valid travel documents.

See the official website of the European Union for further information about travel documents and passports.

Citizens of the following countries are allowed to travel to Iceland showing instead of a passport any of the documents listed (although some airlines will not accept these).

Austria: Personalausweis.
Belgium: Carte d'Identité (Identiteitskaart, Personalausweis, Identity card), Identitätsdokument, Identity document issued for minors under 12 years, provided travelling with custodian.
Bulgaria: Lichna karta (ЛИЧНА КАРТА, Identity card).
Cyprus: Deltio Taytotitas (ΔΕΛΤΙΟ ΤΑΥΤΟΤΗΤΑΣ, Kimlik Karti, Identity Card).
Czech Republic: Občanský průkaz (Czech Republic Identification Card).
Estonia: Eesti Vabariik Isikutunnistus (Republic of Estonia Identity Card).
Finland: Henkilökortti (Identitetskort, Identity Card).
France: Carte Nationale d'Identité.
Germany: Personalausweis (Identity card, Carte d'Identite), Vorläufiger Personal­ausweis (Identity card, Carte d'identite).
Greece: Deltio Taytotitas (ΔΕΛΤΙΟ ΤΑΥΤΟΤΗΤΑΣ).
Hungary: Személyazonosító Igazolvány (Identity card).
Italy: Carta d'Identità.
Liechtenstein: Identitätskarte (Carte d'Identité, Carta d'Identità).
Lithuania: Asmens tapatybés kortelé (Personal Identity Card).
Luxembourg: Carte d'Identité (Identity Card, Personalausweis).
Malta: Karta Ta'l-Identità.
Netherlands: Nederlandse Identiteitskaart (Identity card, Carte d'identité).
Portugal: Bilhete de Identidade de Cidadão Nacional (Carte d'Identité, Identity card of national citizen) and Cartão de Cidadão (citizen card).
Poland: Rzeczpospolita Polska Dowód Osobisty (Republic of Poland Identity Card).
Romania: Carte d'Identite (Carte de identitate, Identity card).
Slovakia: Obciansky Preukaz (Identification Card).
Slovenia: Osebna Izkaznica (Identity Card).
Spain: Documento Nacional de Identidad (DNI).
Switzerland: Carte d'Identité Citoyen Suisse (Identitätskarte Schweizerbürger, Carta d'Identità Cittadino Svizzero). and Identitätskarte (Carte d'Identité, Carta d'Identità, Carta d'Identitad, Identity Card) issued after June 30th 1994
Sweden: Nationellt identitetskort (National Identity Card, Carte nationale d'identité).

It is required that travel documents is valid for three months beyond the intended stay. It is though sufficient that travel documents of citizens of EEA  (EU and EFTA) countries are valid upon arrival.

Iceland is a member of the Schengen cooperation which exempts travelers from border controls travelling between 26 EU and EFTA  countries. A uniform Schengen visa issued by one of the Schengen states is valid for travel within the whole Schengen area. Schengen visa should be applied for at an Embassy representing the state where the main destination is within the Schengen area.

All persons requiring visas, must apply for a visa at the applicable embassy/consulate before travelling to the Schengen area. For a list of embassies/consulates which handle applications for Iceland, see here.

The validity of a uniform Schengen visa is up to 90 days.


EU-states: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (and Monaco), Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden.
EFTA-States: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland.

Contact us

Tip / Query
Please answer in numerics

Veldu tungumál

Veldu tungumál

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Read more