Hoppa yfir valmynd
Ministry of Justice, Ministry of Health

Iceland Introduces Temporary Schengen Border Controls and 14-day Quarantine for International Arrivals

In accordance with recommendations from Iceland’s Chief Epidemiologist, the Minister of Health has changed the current rules restrictions on arrivals due to the COVID-19 epidemic. 

Quarantine Measures for International Arrivals

From Friday April 24th, international arrivals to Iceland must be quarantined for 14 days from their day of arrival and temporary internal Schengen border controls will be introduced on the same day. Barring any changes in the medical and scientific advice, these rules will remain in place until at least May 15th.

The Chief Epidemiologist’s latest update stated that the COVID-19 outbreak in Iceland has now been largely contained and only a few new cases are diagnosed each day. One of the most important factors in controlling the outbreak and preventing a widespread epidemic in Iceland will be to ensure that the disease does not spread from other countries.

A project group headed by the National Commissioner of Police was established at the request of the Chief Epidemiologist to assess COVID-19 policies and following the submission of its recommendations this decision has been taken. So far, tourists have been exempt from this rule as they do not come into contact with vulnerable groups, however this will now change. 

In order to enforce the amended quarantine rules, temporary border controls for arrivals from the Schengen area have been established in accordance with the Immigration Act and the regulation on cross-border travel.

Those passengers arriving in Iceland will be required to fill out a Public Health Passenger Locator form and present it at the border inspection point, providing necessary information regarding where they will stay in quarantine and how it will be organised.

Shengen and EU Travel Restrictions Extended until 15 May

Iceland has implemented the travel restrictions imposed for the Schengen Area and the European Union. As of 20 March 2020, foreign nationals - except EU/EEA, EFTA or UK nationals - are not allowed to enter Iceland unless they can demonstrate that their travel is essential. These measures have been extended until 15 May 2020. Further information is available on the website of the Directorate of Immigration

Next Steps

The Government of Iceland yesterday announced that a working group of officials from several ministries will discuss the next possible steps regarding cross-border travel.

Further decisions will depend on the evolution of the pandemic in Iceland and abroad and will take into account other countries’ policies in this regard.


Contact us

Tip / Query
Please answer in numerics